SMS: Chewy Peanut Butter Cookies

PB & J cookie sandwiches – tah dah!
IMG_1106

And again……..

IMG_1108

Still vogue-ing…

IMG_1107

Sorry, may be getting a bit carried away but I love the pictures – they were taken by my boyfriend who indulges me by snapping many of my bakes..which is lucky because I’m still pretty crap at that side of things..  Plus, I’m in France at the moment using a borrowed laptop & connection so no time to really write! Suffice it to say these cookies were lovely – they turned out chewy, peanut-buttery (umm which is just what we’re looking for in a pb cookie, no?) and not too sweet either. very addictive. The recipe was a cinch AND un-bugger-up-able in my opinion, seeing as I made what may be the most stupid mistake possible.. I was trying to do ten things at once while mixing these up and.. wait for it…I forgot to add the egg. shock. horror. shaaaaame……..

I only realized that after adding the flour mixture and noticing that things seemed a bit dry.. I considered chucking the whole batch out and mixing up a new one, but unfortunately I’d used up all the PB..doh.. so instead I just threw the egg in last and crossed my fingers.  and it worked, hallelujah!

IMG_1120

So as I mentioned in the last post – I loaded some of the cookies up with the gorgeous Strawberry-Ruby Grapefruit preserves I had from last week’s SMS bake to make cookie sandwiches.  These were reeeeally popular – I packed a few in my carry-on and even though they got completely smooshed on the way to the airport, my dad hoovered up every crumb..   I baked the others with a yummy PB-chocolate filling from my usual GO2 recipe by Bakingbites.  I also rolled the doughballs in a little sugar as suggested in that recipe, just to style things up a bit..  I like the bite it offers – you get a really subtle crispiness on the outside in contrast to a nice chewy centre.

I go nuts (hyuk hyuk) for anything peanut-buttery, so I’m really glad I managed to bake these up before heading off.  Big thanks to Stephanie from Ice Cream Before Dinner for her perfect choice! Check out what all the other lovely SMS bakers have done and give this recipe a try – you can’t go wrong!

12 Comments

Filed under cookies, sweet melissa sundays

12 responses to “SMS: Chewy Peanut Butter Cookies

  1. Great looking cookies!

  2. very clever with the pb&j cookie sandwich!

  3. Have a great time on your vacation! The cookies look terrific! I thought about incorporating jelly somehow but in the end it didn’t happen. Next time :)

  4. I love the photos! Your cookies look great!

  5. Your cookies look great, and I love the sandwiches you made!

  6. great job – glad to hear the recipe is fool proof! i love how you sandwiched them with jelly

  7. Those cookies look amazing and it’s so nice of your boyfriend to photograph them for you. I hope you’re enjoying your vacation!

  8. i love the sugar on the outside of the cookies!

  9. Karin

    They look delicious! I love peanut butter cookies rolled in sugar.

  10. Those look SO good! I love the idea of the jam center!!! I made them yesterday too and there are about gone, loved them!

  11. Love the sandwich cookies, and great photos, kudos to the BF.

  12. Love your pictures and the ideas you had for the sandwich cookies. I was also drawn to your site as another “psychologist-baker.” I hope we will have the chance to connect over other baking projects.

Leave a Reply

