sms: chocolate creme caramel… sauce, doh

This week’s ‘back with a bang’ SMS recipe was for Chocolate Creme Caramels.  Unfortunately, there was less bang and more flop here in my kitchen… and I accept full responsibility.  Things started out well – I had all the ingredients, read through the recipe in full (for once), chopped up the chocolate in advance, combined the syrup, honey, etc in my saucepan, stood my spiffy digital thermometer at attention, and waited…. and waited…. and waited…. After about 35 minutes, my syrupy mass started to bubble and rise..then REALLY rise, right up to the very top of the saucepan (sending me into a bit of a panic), but after 45 minutes, when it STILL hadn’t reached even 240F, my patience ran out.  I gave up the boil, added the chocolate and vanilla, then poured the whole shebang into a pan and crossed my fingers.

No luck. As you can see, the caramel failed to harden, so now I’ve got a bucketful of something in between sauce and sludge.  But hey-ho, at least it’s tasty.. in fact, it would probably make a luscious ice-cream topping, warmed up enough..    Big thanks to Jeannette for choosing this would-be yummy treat (you can find the recipe on her gorgeous blog), because despite my flop, at least I’ve come away with a new resolution: Be more patient – good caramel comes to those who wait x

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “sms: chocolate creme caramel… sauce, doh

  1. That’s too bad, but at least it’s not food for the garbage. I’m sure it’s good on ice cream or a plain vanilla cake. I made a 1/4 of the recipe and it took about 15 minutes to come to temp. Also, make sure you’re thermometer is calibrated. Put it in boiling water for about a minute or two and see if it reads 212 F.

  2. Too bad it didn’t come out, though I have to say it looks fabulous as a sauce! In fact, I’m not a big fan of caramel candy so I think I’d have preferred a sauce :) Mine took a while to come to temperature too. I really wish the book had provided an estimate on the time.

  3. mgdsue

    I think I like the thought of using it as a sauce over perhaps some homemade chocolate ice cream. Sorry it didn’t turn out for you. I passed on this one. Have to cut back on all the baking I’ve been doing.

  4. It’s nice that even the flop tasted good and made a good ice cream topping! Luckily, I read other people’s comments on the message board about using a really big pot, otherwise, mine would have boiled over for sure! Happy New Year!

  5. That last comment was from me. I always forget to check the email and website things to make sure they’re the right ones!

  6. fitchick

    Love the sauce idea, sorry they didn’t come out as expected. Mine were great, but sent the whole batch to work with DH, need to stop the sweets, LOL.

  7. Sorry it didnt work for you. Yes, it did take forever and mine boiled over too. Sauce, huh? Good idea!

  8. hotovenwarmheart

    Happy New Year!

    I’m so sorry that your caramel didn’t turn out as planned (although I’m sure it would be DELISH on your ice cream), but I really love the resolution that came out of it :) So much of baking requires patience- isn’t it amazing what life lessons you can learn in the kitchen? Don’t worry, I’m sure you’re next batch (whenever you decide to try again) will be a smashing success!

    I can’t wait to enjoy another fun, fabulous year of baking and blogging together in 2010! Hope you’re doing well having a great week! Talk to you soon!

    <3,
    Joy

  9. Oh man, your blog never ceases to make me chuckle. Don’t even get me started on your malt ball convo. (Don’t worry, I know what a malt ball is ;) )

    You wanna know a secret? I had the SAME problem that you did. And I decided that mayyybe my temperature needed to be a bit higher than medium to get things to temperature so I upped it just a tad and it worked!! Once it reached a few degrees below the needed temp, I yanked it off and finished it. Try, try again!

    Thanks for “baking” with me :D

Leave a Reply

