SMS: Apple Orchard Pecan Crumble

I’m back!! and baking! once again, this’ll be a quickie because I’ve got to battle massive jet lag tomorrow morning and get up early for the first day of my new placement.. I’m feeling the pain already…

I flew back and managed to throw this week’s SMS pick together last night before our houseguest arrived today – and I’m SO happy we’ve got an extra taster because I reeeeeeally overdid myself on holiday, so from now on I’ve GOT to  size down.  Er, after the crumble.. which is yummy, by the way..  so yummy that I’m on my third helping… and the worst part is, I know it’ll make me feel ill, but it’s just toooooo good.. It’s autumn  with a side of double cream, how could anyone resist??!

IMG_1638I chose to assemble the recipe yesterday and freeze it, as Melissa suggests, so I could pop it in the oven today after the chelsea game. it was a good call, go me. and go chelsea – we won, woohoo!!!  I used granny smiths because that’s all my local had, and I’m glad I did – any sweeter and I would’ve had to stick with one portion.. (if only).  In fact, I even cut down on the sugar by adding only 2/3 cup to the apples, rather than 1 whole cup, and I might go even stingier next time.  I might also cut down on the baking time because I think a bit more bite to the apples would be nice.. You can see the prebaked, frozen crumble above.. but I promise I’ll try to post another finished photo tomorrow, if I can  restrain myself from eating the last portion tonight.. (cross your fingers)

Big thanks to Cristine for choosing such a great fall intro & don’t forget to check out the blogroll to see what the other SMSers made of this one xx

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “SMS: Apple Orchard Pecan Crumble

  1. YUM! this looks really good. I only ate one, but there’s still some left at my place too, hopefully my roommates will eat them all before I can.

  2. YUM! Fall in a dish is exactly what this was and we LOVED it too. What a great way to start the season =)

    **LOVED your crumble photo!**

  3. Even prebaked amd frozen it looks wonderful!

  4. Your crumble looks perfect! I made a bunch of minis in various sized ramekins and stuck a few in the freezer – glad to hear that worked well for you 🙂

  5. I have one extra serving that I was going to eat by myself, but maybe I’ll try freezing it! Then again, maybe I’ll just go ahead and eat it when no one is looking!

  6. Karin

    Yours looks so delicious! Isn’t it funny how you know something is going to make you sick, but you go ahead and do it anyway?

  7. mmmm your crumble looks great! i had three portions. and that’s only because it was gone before i got to attack it again 🙂

  8. Your crumble looks tasty! I probably should have cut back on the sugar. I’ll remember that for next time.

  9. Beautiful crumble! I loved this one too, I’ve already made it twice and I’m sure I’ll be making it again… I didn’t use any sugar in my apples, and it was plenty sweet.

Leave a Reply

