MSC: Pumpkin patch cupcakes

Linus: “Tonight the Great Pumpkin will rise out of the pumpkin patch. He flies through the air and brings toys to all the children of the world. He’ll come here because I have the most sincere pumpkin patch and he respects sincerity.”
Sally Brown: “That’s a good story.”
Linus: “You don’t believe the story of the Great Pumpkin? I thought little girls always believed everything that was told to them. I thought little girls were innocent and trusting.”

note the real pumpkin prop in the background.. slightly contrived, yessss...

note the background prop.. slightly contrived, yessss... and the 'forest green' food-colouring I used turned out to be more of a sea-green in my opinion, but oh well..

Well, I haven’t taken a bite yet, but I’m trusting that these are going to be phenomenal. Firstly, they’re cream-cheese frosted, which always spells ‘winner’.  Secondly, the cakes themselves smell fantastic, rose to a perfect dome and look deliciously moist.  But just looking gets harder and harder… I baked these up to take over to a friend’s house this evening (that way, I can only eat as many as I can stuff my face with in one go), but unfortunately she’s going through a rough time, so I’ve put ’em on ice for now.  Literally.  Which is why I’ve got less than a patch at the moment…
But it’s a sincere patch! You don’t get much more sincere than cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger.  And although I thought the marzipan pumpkins would be a nightmare to make (especially as I don’t have a leaf cutter.. clearly..) it was actually an easy task and I’ve come away inspired to skill up on the ol’ sugarcraft.. and to revisit the fun of play dough.

obviously, I had no leaf cutter and had to play it free style

obviously, I had no leaf cutter and had to play it free style

Somehow, living overseas for most of my life, I’ve developed a passion obsession for any and every tacky holiday tradition – the kitscher (read: tackier), the better.  So this was a perfect pick to kick start the halloween season.  The cupcakes were simple enough to put together, but I had trouble – as usual – getting my hands on pumpkin puree over here.  I made my annual pitstop at Selfridges (the only source of Libby’s 100% I’ve come across in London – as obscenely priced as it is) only to be told that they wouldn’t be receiving the shipment for another few weeks.  Eventually, I overcame the horror and resigned myself to missing out on this one.  (No time for DIY pumpkin puree).
Luckily, and despite having no faith whatsoever, I asked at my local (giant) Waitrose where – lo and behold – the fantastic saleswoman produced the (non-Libby’s) goods after a lengthy search.
Right, er, that’s my long-winded way of giving this bake a 2/5 for availability of ingredients (when living overseas and trying to survive the ‘great pumpkin crisis’ of 2009, apparently) and a 5/5 for simplicity. I can’t comment YET on taste or texture combo.. but I’m predicting high scores.  Big thanks to ‘What the Whisk’ Kim for this perfect seasonal pick, and please check out the other patches here.

11 Comments

Filed under cupcakes, holidays, martha stewart cupcakes

11 responses to “MSC: Pumpkin patch cupcakes

  1. I am so loving your Pumpkin-Patch Cupcakes! They look FANTASTICAL!

    Look at those colors and that beautiful pumpkin topper! You made them so well! 🙂

    Thanks for going out of your way for the pumpkin puree, it was worth it! I am sure you will enjoy them as much as we did.

    Simply gorgeous!

  2. Oh, I love the story of the Great Pumpkin…such fun to see that and read it and remember all the times I have watched it. Your decorations are really stunningly beautiful. So creative and I wish I had even one single creative bone in my body, but I don’t…so that’s why it is extra fun to see yours! Great job, Great Pumpkin Cupcake Decorator!

  3. Beautiful cupcakes! I love the Great Pumpkin!!

  4. Kim

    Such cute cupcakes. Your leaves are cute and I would have thought you used a leaf cutter. You have some serious decorating skills. Your post is very entertaining. I’m glad you were able to find some pumpkin. Thanks for baking along with me this month.

  5. i like the green! it’s pretty. =) you did a fantastic job on those pumpkins! i kinda wish i had done them now. hehe.

  6. Wow. I love the prettiness of the swirls and the marzipan pumpkin. It’s so beautiful!

  7. LOL! June, you are hilarious! thanks so much for your words of encouragement ! =)

  8. Wendy

    aww poor linus!

    I love your cupcakes. Your decoration is perfect!

  9. What is with the “great pumpkin crisis of 2009”?? Several people stateside had a hard time finding canned pumpkin. Puzzling. Anyway, your cupcakes are absolutely adorable!!

  10. holy crud these look great!

  11. Kate

    These look great! I absolutely love the color of the frosting. Isn’t it funny sometimes things don’t turn out how we think they will, but end up great! Your pumpkins turned out great too!

Leave a Reply

